W. Janke (Leipzig)

S. Trimper (Halle)

Deadlines and dates

Early payment deadline 15 February 2009
Abstract submission deadline 28 February 2009
Payment deadline 15 March 2009
Arrival Sun, 29 March 2009, afternoon
Conference start Mon, 30 March 2009, 9:00
Conference end Wed, 01 April 2009, 16:00
Departure Thu, 02 April 2009, morning

Fees (early payment)

Accomodation in single room 350 EUR
Accomodation in double room 320 EUR
Accompanying persons 280 EUR

After the early payment deadline, an extra fee of 50 EUR will be charged.

The fee covers accommodation from Sunday, 29 March to Thursday, 2 April, meals and the usual conference activities.

Please, use bank transfer to (free of all bank charges for the recipient):
Account Name Hauptkasse Sachsen - Universität Leipzig
Account Number 315 301 1370
Bank Code 850 503 00
Bank Name Ostsächsische Sparkasse Dresden / OSD
Purpose "Your Name" - 2311916-Fee MECO34
IBAN DE82 850 503 00 315 301 1370


We have limited resources for financial support of students and participants from non-EU countries. Please inform us by e-mail to meco34@itp.uni-leipzig.de in case you want to apply for support. A submitted abstract and a short justification are mandatory.

09 March 2009: The Wilhelm und Else Heraeus Foundation and the German Physical Society have granted for participation in the MECO34 conference support for up to 20 diploma and PhD students as well as postdocs, provided they

  • are members of the German Physical Society (DPG), and
  • have submitted an abstract for a poster or talk.
The application form can be downloaded » here as pdf file.

Please send the completed form together with a hardcopy of your abstract page
before March 20, 2009 to

Prof. Dr. Wolfhard Janke
MECO34 - WE Heraeus Support
Institut für Theoretische Physik
Universität Leipzig
Postfach 100920
D-04009 Leipzig

If approved, the Wilhelm und Else Heraeus Foundation will cover 50% of the conference fee and contribute 50% of 0.18 Euro per km distance between your home university and Leipzig.

International advisory board

B. Berche (Nancy), K. Binder (Mainz), R. Blinc (Ljubljana), A. Cuccoli (Firenze), C. Di Castro (Roma), R. Fazio (Pisa), R. Folk (Linz), F. Igloi (Budapest), W. Janke (Leipzig), W. Kleemann (Duisburg), M. Kotrla (Prague), G. Meissner (Saarbrücken), S. Milosevic (Belgrad), H. Rieger (Saarbrücken), A. Rigamonti (Pavia), F. Schwabl (München), A. Surda (Bratislava), J. Sznajd (Wroclaw), V. Tognetti (Firenze), S. Trimper (Halle), K. Uzelac (Zagreb)

Local organizers

Wolfhard Janke (University of Leipzig)
Steffen Trimper (University of Halle/Wittenberg)

Previous MECO conferences

1974 Wien (A) 1975 Regensburg (D)
1976 Bled (Y) 1977 Unterägeri (CH)
1978 Boszkowo (PL) 1979 Trieste (I)
1980 Budapest (H) 1981 Saarbr├╝cken (D)
1982 Wien (A) 1983 Bled (Y)
1984 Gernrode (D) 1985 Aussois (F)
1986 Liblice (CS) 1987 Poidoux-Chexbres (CH)
1988 Karpacz (PL) 1989 Siena (I)
1990 Balatonfüred (H) 1991 Duisburg (D)
1994 Smolenice (SK) 1995 Puchberg/Wels (A)
1996 Bled (SL) 1997 Szklarska Poreba (PL)
1998 Trieste (I) 1999 Lutherstadt-Wittenberg (D)
2000 Pont-a-Mousson (F) 2001 Prague (CZ)
2002 Sopron (H) 2003 Saarbrücken (D)
2004 Bratislava (SK) 2005 Cortona (I)
2006 Primosten (CR) 2007 Ladek Zdroj, (PL)
2008 Puchberg/Wels (A)