Universität Leipzig
ITP – Institut fr Theoretische Physik
Page: QFG

Quantum Field Theory and Gravity

 

 

 

 

Speaker

 

Prof. Dr. Rainer Verch

Room 208

Telephone : +49-341-97-32423

Fax: +49-341-97-31448

e-mail: rainer.verch[AT]uni-leipzig.de

 

 

Seminar on Quantum Field Theory, Gravitation, and Elementary Particles

 

S. Hollands, R. Verch

Mondays, 15:15-16:45, seminar room 114 ITP

Schedule

 

 

Research

 

The focus of investigation in the group of Quantum Field Theory and Gravity consists of three main strands: (1) Quantum field theory in curved spacetimes (Prof. Dr. R. Verch, Dr. T. P. Hack), (2) mathematical structure of gauge field theories and their quantization (Prof. Dr. G. Rudolph (retired), Dr. M. Schmidt) and (3) quantum fields under the influence of external conditions (PD Dr. M. Bordag).

 

In quantum field theory in curved spacetimes, several research fields are pursued, such as mathematical and conceptual foundations of local covariant quantum field theory and of the early epoch of cosmology, characterization of locally thermal states and their application to the Unruh effect, and in cosmology; and furthermore some aspects of quantum field theory on spacetimes that contain closed timelike curves. A sideline of this research is quantum field theory on non-commutative geometries. One of the aims is to gain a better understanding of essential ingredients for a potential theory of quantum gravity. In the research on gauge theories, one focus is on the topological structure of gauge orbit spaces. A complementary line of research is devoted to a better understanding of gauge field theories on lattices. In quantum field theory under the influence of external conditions, a central research field is the influence of boundaries, as in the Casimir effect, and singular potentials and their role in quantization. Some of the effects studied in this line of research have concrete applications in experiments.

 

 

Publications

 

List of publications of our group on INSPIRE

 

 

Teaching

 

Lectures in the winter semester 2017

Lectures in the summer semester 2017

Lectures in the winter semester 2016

Lectures in the summer semester 2016

 

 

Members

 

Please prepend +49-341-97- to all telephone numbers and append @itp.uni-leipzig.de to all emails unless noted otherwise.

 

NameRoomTelephoneEmail
Professors
Prof. Dr. Rainer Verch 208 32423 rainer.verch
Retired Professors
Prof. Dr. Bodo Geyer    bodo.geyer
Prof. Dr. Gerd Rudolph30632426rudolph[AT]rz.uni-leipzig.de
Prof. Dr. Armin Uhlmannarmin.uhlmann
Staff Members
PD Dr. Michael Bordag10732427michael.bordag
Dr. Thomas-Paul Hack 215b 32444 thomas-paul.hack
Dr. Matthias Schmidt 317b 32431 matthias.schmidt
Associate Members
PD Dr. Jürgen Tolksdorfjuergen.tolksdorf[AT]mis.mpg.de
Visitors
Prof. Dr. Nicola Pinamonti
(01.11.17 - 27.02.18)
pinamont[AT]dima.unige.it
Prof. Dr. Chris Fewster
(03.12.17 - 08.12.17)
chris.fewster[AT]york.ac.uk
Ph.D. Students
Tobias Diez 318 32388 tobias.diez
Erik Fuchs 317a 32453 erik.fuchs[AT]mis.mpg.de
Michael Gransee     mgransee[AT]gmx.net
Mathias Hänsel 318 32388
Felix Kurpicz 317a 32453 kurpicz
Master Students
Sandesh Bhat 318 32388
Richard Höhne 318 32388
Sebastian Knappe 317a 32453
Dorian Nothaaß 318 32388
Maik Weßling 318 32388