Bodo Geyer

On some remarkable steps in the history of (theoretical) physics during
600 years of Leipzig University


- Foundation in 1409: The scholastic university
- 1550: Lutherian reformation and first university reform, first physics professors
- 1710: First collections of physical apparatuses. Experiments on electricity and vacuum.
- On the role of mathematicians (and astronomers) for theoretical physics
- 1894: Foundation of Institute of Theoretical Physics: Ebert-Drude-Boltzmann-DesCoudres
- 1925-1945: Golden years of physics in Leipzig: Debye-Heisenberg-Hund
- 1945-1990: Reconstruction and growth of physics

The lecture will be given in German!